2017 nominations are now closed. Winners will be announced in early June.

Student-Nominated Award for Innovative Faculty Use of Digital Technology

Launched in 2016, the Teaching with Digital Technology Awards are student-nominated awards for instructors who have effectively used digital technology to improve teaching and learning at MIT. The goal is to recognize instructors for their innovations and to give the MIT community the opportunity to learn from their practices. The awards are co-sponsored by The Office of Digital Learning (ODL), the Dean of Undergraduate Education (DUE), and the Office of the Dean for Graduate Education (ODGE).

2016 Winners

132 nominations were received for 90 different faculty members & instructors. The winners, chosen by a committee of 5 undergrad & grad students plus Dean Freeman, Dean Ortiz, and VP Sarma, are:

  • Lorna Gibson, MS&E
  • Max Goldman & Robert Miller, EECS
  • Chris Terman, EECS
  • Peter Dourmashkin, Physics
  • Kurt Fendt, CMS

Winners were honored at a luncheon and their teaching stories are highlighted in this video:

For more information please refer to the MIT News article or contact ODL Residential Education (odl-residential@mit.edu).